School-wide Positive Behavior Support (SwPBS)

SwPBS is a broad range of systemic and individualized strategies for achieving

important social and learning outcomes while preventing problem behavior
OSEP Center on PBIS

 ESSENTIAL COMPONENTS

SwPBS is a systems change approach.  By incorporating systems, data, and practices schools will change their discipline system in an effort to achieve their desired outcomes of social competence & academic achievement.  SwPBS includes data to support decision making and practices to support students.  The most important component is to change your systems to support yourstaff.   For more information about School-wide Positive Behavior Support (SwPBS) in the School District of Palm Beach County, see contact information below: 

Principles That Guide SwPBS

    • Focus of discipline is on academic & behavior success

    • Is for all students, all staff, and all settings

    • Emphasizes prevention

    • Uses research-validated practices

    • Coordinated by an SwPBS team

    • Emphasizes an instructional approach

    • Uses data to guide decisions

THE KEY:  Behavior is functionally related to the teaching environment.

Department of Safe Schools, Multi-Tiered System of Supports

Contact Information:

June Z. Eassa, Ed.S.

Director, Department of Safe Schools 561-434-1591 (PX81591) june.eassa@palmbeachschools.org

JeTawn Shannon, Manager, 561-982-0916 (PX 50916)  jetawn.shannon@palmbeachschools.org

Frances Basich,  Specialist, MTSS/SwPBS 561-982-0929 (PX50929) frances.basich@palmbeachschools.org

Andrea Hanford,  SSC-B Lead Coach and Trainer 561-982-0933 (PX50933)  andrea.hanford@palmbeachschools.org

Vicki Gaddy,  SSC-B Coach 561-653-5227 (PX85227) vicki.gaddy@palmbeachschools.org

Helen Gimenez,  SSC-B Coach 561-540-9113 (PX29113) helen.gimenez@palmbeachschools.org

Marlene Neiman,  Resource Coordinator & SSC-B Coach 561-982-0902 (PX50902) marlene.neiman@palmbeachschools.org

lcl